the sew weekly: the “i’m gonna make it after all” burdastyle handbook skirt

The Facts:

Fabric: Liberty of London Tana Lawn “Dancing Ladies”,
blue rayon-poly “silk” underskirt (from stash), silk organza (from stash)
Pattern: The BurdaStyle Sewing Handbook Skirt
Year: 2011
Notions: 9″ zipper, blue lace trim (both from stash)
Time to Complete: ~ 4 hours
First Worn: January 11, 2012
Wear Again: Not only that, I’m already plotting to make more and more and more.
Total Price: ~$25
Challenge Theme:  “Accessorize”

I keep a large corkboard leaning against the wall in front of my television set, with fabric swatches, inspiration photos and pattern pictures pinned all over it.  This Liberty pattern – “Dancing Ladies,” from the Liberty Rocks art collection, had been pinned to the board since about November.  Soon after that, the BurdaStyle book came out and I found myself admiring this skirt for its range of options, its simplicity, and its sparing use of fabric.  A pattern like this would let me have a skirt with plenty of fabric left over for future experimentation.  The overskirt/underskirt combo is awesome and allows plenty of future modifications (even without all of the examples in the book) and I always love a touch of lace.  The “accessorize” challenge sealed the deal, because blue is a favorite of mine and my favorite vintage hat is a blue velvet beret from the 1940s.  This synergy of means, motive and opportunity gave me a great “aha!” moment – I can handle this whole Sew Weekly Challenge thing.  I had honestly been unsure until that very second, and then the ideas started flowing.  I’m going to make it after all!

Obviously I wanted to recreate the ultimate “make it after all” moment with a great Mary Tyler Moore homage, but my photographer (my mother, who laughed at the suggestion in the first place) sucks at this game.  So, there is a hat (or to paraphrase the great old Jewish joke, “I had a hat!”) but I’ve already thrown it up into the air, missed it, laughed about it, and then my mother remembered to take the photo.

who knew the camera on an iPhone could be so confusing?

Five times.

Just another word about this outfit and this day.  Accidentally-on-purpose, I’m wearing this outfit on the second day of my mom’s I’ve-already-lost-count-it’s-been-so-many round of chemo.  I knew it would make her laugh.  All of my accessories (ironically, not including the hat) are things that she has given to me:  my antique Trifari brooch, my home-shopping-network “antique style” watch, my fleur-de-lis necklace, and my boots that we picked out together on a shopping trip.

But no worries.  We’re gonna make it, after all.

my hat is another story entirely.

Pattern Description:
paneled skirt has over-skirt and under-skirt and front/back yokes. it comes way above the knee in its unaltered version.

Pattern Sizing:
i made the smallest size and it was still too big by more than 3″.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
yes! the basic version does look exactly like the technical drawing.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
unlike BWOF, the pattern instructions in the book were simple and straightforward. now if only i hadn’t had to trace…

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
the over-/under-skirt combo is always a fun thing to play with, and i look forward to making endless variations on this theme.

Fabric Used:
liberty of london tana lawn “dancing ladies” from shaukat
blue poly/rayon “silk” from paron’s annex

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
taken in at the back seam because i didn’t notice until i was zipping up the zipper how huge it was. next time, i will alter from the side seams for a cleaner look.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
i’m planning many variations in many colors.

Conclusion:
a great skirt pattern to keep in one’s TNT arsenal, with lots of flirty, feminine possibilities.

This entry was posted in Finished Objects, Pattern Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to the sew weekly: the “i’m gonna make it after all” burdastyle handbook skirt

  1. Clio says:

    Cute skirt!
    I hope your mom treatment and recovery are speedy and without setbacks!

  2. Judith says:

    A beautiful way to say ‘thanks’ to your Mum – should must have loved your thoughtfulness. The skirt is a winner, as ‘was’ the hat….

  3. Janice says:

    Cute skirt!

    Speedy recovery to your mom. My mom lived with me last year while she was going through chemo for about 8 months, and it was pretty brutal, so I can definitely empathize.

  4. I know you can do it too! I would love to see some cloes ups of your fabric, it sounds beautiful but I cany really make it out from your photo. I hope your mom gets better soon! Sorry for my typos, my i pad wont let me fix them for some reason.

  5. Pingback: “design features” and a scrap-tastic burda handbook skirt | puu's door of time

Leave a Reply

