weekend sewing studio: in which actual sewing was accomplished!

of course, i mean last weekend, but who is counting?

last week i had a serious indulgence at my house:  i was actually able to use it.  behold, my sewing station!

so what if it still doesn’t have drawers?  don’t judge me!

i made most of my “mad men” dress.
yes.  it has boning in the waistline.

working with my handmade bias tape was more of a challenge than i had anticipated.  i needed to detach and reattach the waist band twice to get everything lined up and tacked down properly, and i may need to adjust it yet again for fit in the bodice.

i’m not worried about the depth of the v-neck, because i have a gorgeous turquoise underdress to keep everything decent and comfortable.  but i’m still unconvinced on how well that bodice top will or will not fit.  i love the skirt, which has three pleats in the back.  and i love my bias tape, even with all of its troubles.

other than that, it just needs a zipper and a hem.  a propos of tasia’s post on project lengths, i think this one was just complicated enough to feel pride and a sense of skill without feeling overwhelming in its length, details or difficulty.

i do have my pantone TSW challenge ready to go as well.

during my day trip to london, i picked up some amazing liberty lantana wool in my favorite of all favorite prints, minako.  it features hearts in tangerine tango, cabaret AND starfish.

since skirts ARE the new must-have fashion item, i thought a shortened, updated simplicity 1649 was the way to go.  with a nice little 30s blouse, n’est-ce pas?

my other contender was sodalite blue, a macaron to be precise, with accent pieces in leftovers of my liberty of london “dancing ladies” print and organza for the yoke.  i still want this…i just didn’t have time this week.  too much happened, not enough evenings spent at home.  sunday has the potential to be a wonderful catch-up day for me, however, since the weather will be awful and i won’t hear the siren song of my garden in need of preparation for spring.

This entry was posted in In Progress, Inspiration, Vintage and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to weekend sewing studio: in which actual sewing was accomplished!

  1. This all looks so exciting! I can’t wait to see your outfits; I’m sure they’ll be spectacular as usual. I am especially curious to know more about that boning in the waistband!

    Also, I’ve nominated you for a blog award! Check out my post here (http://cationdesigns.blogspot.com/2012/03/catching-up-on-blog-awards.html) to pick up the award. Thanks for all the time and effort you put into writing your blog posts…yours is one of my favorites (and not just because of the cat pictures)!

  2. megthegrand says:

    I don’t know if I can handle all the awesomeness in this post, especially those vintage patterns and your plans for the macaron! Divine!

    • puu says:

      aww, meg, i am blushing. :-) i am definitely waiting for the right opportunity to pounce on my macaron plan, but right now my mind is full of lovely, easy projects to fill out the next few challenges for TSW….

  3. Pingback: the “mad men” dress that nearly drove me mad; or, a sort-of vogue 8409 | puu's door of time

Leave a Reply

