just dropping in to say…

….i really responded to this post of sunni’s this morning, because i felt the same way.

Over the weekend, I finally got to the point where I feel that I really need to get back on board with those things that make me happy and forget about my…woes. And of course, one thing that makes me really happy is sewing! Yay! Normally I don’t discuss personal matters here on my blog, but I’ve decided to throw caution to the wind today and bare a little of my soul and what I’ve been feeling lately. Its been a time for me to re-examine what’s really important in my life and though I wouldn’t consider sewing a wardrobe as the most important thing in life, having an outlet for creative ingenuity is. It’s also been a time to remember what some of my goals this year started out as being.

sunday, and again last night, for the first time in ages, i sat down properly at my machine and worked on something that required just enough concentration to make it engaging without inducing a sewing /ragequit. i tailored (just with hymo and a taped roll line) the front panels of my “mix it up” coatdress and shaped my undercollar. i enjoyed a few NCIS reruns on cable. i marveled at my sprouted watermelon seeds in my windowsill seed-starting kit. i even put some clutter away.

it felt good. i’ve had a lot going on lately, both good (hello, house of my dreams) and troubling (family health issues). i need to remember why sewing has become my outlet of choice, and keep working on my sewing projects and long-term goals.

oh, and i made cake.  seriously.  best cake ever.

whipping cream cake by the meaning of pie. photo from the meaning of pie.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to just dropping in to say…

  1. oonaballoona says:

    that cake looks like it could indeed solve all of the world’s problems.

    i hope you’re getting more sewing in. i think more happy outlets equal more upswing in everything.

    • puu says:

      oona, your brilliance knows no bounds. :-) i am, indeed, trying to get more sewing in.

      and if this cake cannot solve the world’s problems, i am not sure what can, it was that good (especially with homemade strawberry jam and whipped cream)

Leave a Reply

