advance 7049: weekend road warrior, or, outfit for a sunday drive

do you have a drive that you’ve done so many times the thought of doing it again induces you with tremors of dread?  so many times that you feel like you can measure, to the nanometer, exactly how much of it you have left at any given point?

what this sign should really say: danger. hours of your life you are never getting back…

i have one.  it’s the I-95 corridor between new york and washington, D.C.  i went to school in baltimore, then worked in DC for two years, and i still have family there.  unfortunately, i actually like my family from there, so it behooves me a couple of times a year to get my butt in the car, suck it up, and face the lonely miles of I-95.  picking the worst bit is actually the hardest part:  is it the stretch on the NJ Turnpike between exits 5 and 1?  is it the EZ-pass queue at the bottom of the turnpike?  is it delaware?

sadly, this is about what the traffic usually looks like.

flip a coin.  of course, 2 or 3 times a year beats the 20+ times i used to do it when i lived down there.

oh, baltimore beltway, how i loathe you.

i armed myself as best i could:  6-hour power 90s playlist (because anything is better when the backstreet boys or NSYNC are on in the background).  lots of water.  and a comfy outfit.

but no amount of prep can save you from the ordeal.  i had it all planned to leave bright and early.  and then my aunt and her diabolically cute kids made breakfast with the family a must-do.  honestly, non-stop laughter for over an hour.  (also:  bagels)  then, on my way home, i stopped to visit one of my besties from college.   and she and HER diabolically cute kids conspired to keep me entertained and occupied several hours past my cinderella time.

so here is me, travel-weary and travel-stained, clutching on to my reward for surviving the drive:

if you are wondering what the white stuff on my legs is, it’s sunscreen. my AC was broken and i made the entire drive, 2 tunnels and a bridge included, with the top down in my little VW beetle. yeah, my cousins were crying for me, too. :-)

two words:  vanilla.  milkshake.

Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:
play separates: button-front sleeveless shirt, cuffed shorts with released pleats in front and darts in back, button-front overskirt.

Pattern Sizing:
size 16/34B

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
the shorts, which i made, look exactly like you would want 1950s-style shorts to look.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
i did not use the instructions, but they are typically vintage: great diagrams, sparse wording.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
i love these fifties-style shorts because they are high-waisted and wide-legged with a fairly deep crotch curve. thus, they sit at your natural waist, actually allow air to circulate around your legs, and are not all up on you like a second skin.

Fabric Used:
leftover “bottomweight” fabric from jo-ann.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
i needed to deepen the pleats big time to get a better fit at the waist.

Construction:
shorts are so easy they are almost hard to actually sit and finish. for example, these sat unhemmed for 6 months until i realized they would be comfortable and perfect for sunday brunch and a long drive with my beloved renfrew top, so i….glued the hem with steam-a-seam. try not to judge me too harshly. but now they are done, they are an instant classic and i need many more pairs.  rinse & repeat.

This entry was posted in Finished Objects, Pattern Review, Vintage and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to advance 7049: weekend road warrior, or, outfit for a sunday drive

  1. 90s boy bands are the best driving songs, as you can sing at the top of your lungs, confident of the inane lyrics because you’ve sung them each at least a hundred times…

    I don’t have any 50s shorts patterns, but I will be on the lookout now, having read your recommendation.

    • puu says:

      what i love most about them, especially after reading about the trouble those amazing sailor shorts gave you, is that because the crotch depth is already so low (on purpose) there are fewer fitting hassles.

  2. Tanit-Isis says:

    Urg! I don’t know if I will ever get over the loathing of the drive back to my hometown. Seven hours of flatland driving, on single-lane, non-divided highway. The worst bit is the first two hours, as there are lots of turns to make. At least the traffic isn’t as bad as in your photos, though it’s still not great. We tend to listen to DVDs when my husband’s driving, although if I’m doing it alone (fortunately rare) I’ll try to stock up on podcasts.

    Sounds like you were well-rewarded for it, though, and your travel gear looks ace! :)

  3. allison says:

    I got here via Sew Retro, and as soon as I scrolled down enough to see 95, I made a sound of exasperation, pain and sympathy. I grew up near Philly, and am familiar with that route. Now, I live in St. Louis, and have to do the 14 hour slog on I-70 to see my people. It sucks, no matter who is with me or what I’m listening to. Two trips ago, we experienced THREE accidents, one of which shut down the highway in Ohio with no place to exit. Last time, my ancient dog decided car rides made her anxious and she panted her ancient dog breath the entire freakin’ way.
    Anyway, I feel your pain, but at least you have WaWas.

    • puu says:

      man, that sounds like some of my trips! even with a wawa it is no piece of cake :-) but at least i was pet-free most of the time…

Leave a Reply

