the sew weekly “television”: an outfit for a companion at rest (better late than never edition)

The Facts:

Fabric: silk/blend brocade in butterfly print from B&J fabrics (top); rayon/linen blend in taupe from paron’s annex
Pattern: new look 6356 (top); simplicity 2451 (skirt)
Year: the sleeve pattern is circa 1960s, but the rest comes from contemporary patterns
Notions: riri metal zip with multi-colored teeth; white 9″ zip for skirt; snaps for closure
Time to Complete: ~5 hours – 2 hours for top, and 3 for skirt (over the course of almost a year!)
First Worn:  June 19, 2012
Wear Again: i think so
Total Price: ~$50
Challenge Theme:  “television”

for those of you who, like me, enjoyed the show “firefly” (cancelled in 2002, and YES IT STILL HURTS), “our mrs reynolds” is probably at the top of your list of favorite episodes out of the 14. (only 14?  YES IT STILL HURTS!)

acknowledge the awesomeness of firefly, or i swear by my pretty floral bonnet: i will end you.

i’ve got three photos pinned to my board in terms of looks to have fun with:  kaylee’s jumpsuit (i even have a teddy bear knee patch):

kaylee’s asian-style jacket, often paired with the jumpsuit:

and inara’s oatmeal-and-orange outfit during the space flight in “our mrs. reynolds.”

she also wears it to nandi’s funeral in “heart of gold.”

inara’s skirt is much cooler than mine, and one day i fully intend to rectify that.  but in order to get the challenge out of my UFO pile, i seized on the excuse to finish a long-abandoned simplicity 2451, which only needed a hem and a waistband snap to move from the pile to the closet.

inara’s skirt:

simplicity 2451:

silly?  maybe.  but some people juggle geese.

construction notes:

  • brocade is ANNOYING.  i am not sure it could possibly have frayed any more.  i tried to handle it as little as possible, but thank goodness i had some extra-wide seam binding on hand, is all i am saying.
  • in fact, even with that, i tore a hole in the fabric when i was trying to bind and stitch the neckline.  this actually worked out ok, because i got a lower neckline, which i thought was more flattering.

Pattern Description:
yoked skirt with 4 length variations, including flared and straight versions.

Pattern Sizing:
4-12.  i cut a 12.  probably could have done a 10 for a snugger, higher fit at the waist.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
yes, the technical drawings are excellent and accurate.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
versatility and simplicity.  this skirt definitely has TNT potential.

Fabric Used:
silk/rayon/linen blend from paron’s annex.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
none. straight out of the envelope as-is.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
maybe.  it may have just been my mood at the time but this skirt wasn’t fun to make.  it’s easy, it’s versatile, it’s a wardrobe staple, but it isn’t fun.  that said, i do highly recommend it:  it’s easy, it’s versatile, and it’s a wardrobe staple.

This entry was posted in Finished Objects, Pattern Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to the sew weekly “television”: an outfit for a companion at rest (better late than never edition)

  1. Tanit-Isis says:

    Love it! (And love love love your inspiration ;) but then I pretty much want everything Inara owns in that whole series…)

    Also, slippery poly Asian-inspried brocade is evil. The one and only time I worked with it, I knew it was ravelly, so I made sure to serge my seam-allowances as soon as the fabric was cut. I then got to watch as the serging *fell right off* before I could even get it stitched. The garment wound up having the world’s most massive French seams. But so, so pretty….

  2. Jenny says:

    “Our Mrs. Reynolds” is great, but “Out of Gas” is my favorite episode–I love it so much! And you’re right, it still hurts.

    Love the outfit!

  3. Dawn says:

    Great use of inspiration! Recently I’ve been sewing by the light of “Firefly” running on my computer (again) Just watched “Our Mrs. Reynolds” which is also one of my favorites:)

  4. prttynpnk says:

    Love it- you must make some Kaylee duds- if we do not celebrate we may forget! We’ve had lots of Joan Holloway makes- lets get back to where we loved her first- the show of Spcae cowboys!

  5. Meg says:

    HA! Some people juggle geese. I just love your sense of humor :) I LOVE Our Mrs. Reynolds – Firefly is still one of my favorite shows to marathon through. The Inara and Mal will they-won’t they never gets old. It definitely still hurts.

    I love your version of the outfit! The top is such a fantastic color – you nailed Inara’s fabulous style! Now you just need to make Kaylee’s jacket – and carry a parasol everywhere :)

    • puu says:

      OMG, the mal-inara relationship is such an obsession of mine that have i friends that won’t even let me discuss it anymore. to call me a die-hard ‘shipper would be the understatement of the universe.

  6. Could I love you any more? I feel like I should stop professing my love for everything you love/make/have, lest I start sounding like some creepy old man trying to lure you into his van…”You like Firefly too? I’ve got a van full of Inara’s old outfits at home! You can see them if you just step in here!” But seriously, I love your inspiration, the resulting outfit, and the warning against brocade. I, too, will never get over Mal and Inara. Gaaah. I am sad now.

  7. Donna says:

    I followed Cation Design’s link to you :) And I just wanted to say that I love, love your homage to Inara. That’s a beautiful top! I had no idea that brocade frayed so badly – good job on conquering it!

Leave a Reply

