making a few fixes for the new year…

i had a bit of an end-of-the-year frenzy. it was sort of like, once i plunged back in to projects, i went ALL THE WAY in.  long on the chopping block was a 1940s faux-wrap dress that never quite worked out for me as something wearable.  it was too “nice” for a “house dress” but made me feel schlumpy if i wore it out.

so i cut the bodice and planned to make a new ensemble out of some separates.  for now i just have a finished skirt, but i like the look of it with my wool elie tahari moto-style jacket and chic white blouse.
20130107-104624.jpg

cat dance time!20130107-104635.jpg

another piece that had been bothering me was my nero-wolfe-inspired 50s blouse with an awesome wing collar.  the pattern fit fine, but had what i felt was much too much wearing ease.  blouses tend to have between 4 and 9 inches of wearing ease!  it made me uncomfortable.

so i nicked a detail from some elizabeth and james RTW button-downs i have and put a button loop and button in to the back pleats.  this way i could take it in, but the ease still has somewhere to go and allow movement.

20130107-104647.jpg

20130107-104657.jpg

i also like it better as a casual outfit, for what it’s worth, but i still enjoy pairing it with my high-waisted pencil for a mix of casual and work.  especially since i was in the early stages of a monster stomach flu yesterday…

meanwhile, just for fun, some weekend fashion badassery.  my dad and sister came to visit.  i told my sister that the mood bag completed her ensemble.  don’t you agree?  we splurged on some cavali crepe-de-chine and are making a colette taffy out of it for her.

20130107-104722.jpg

This entry was posted in Finished Objects and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to making a few fixes for the new year…

  1. I love how you added the button and button loop to the pleats on our 50s blouse! That’s a perfect fix, and it looks great paired with that skirt. I love that you and your sister are such fashionistas, and I’m excited to see the finished Taffy!

  2. Clio says:

    Great fixes! I love you and your sister’s respective styles!

    • puu says:

      yes i am sure my sister will be so proud that i totally splashed her photo all over the place. :-) but i spent the entire day telling her how awesome it looked!!

  3. gingermakes says:

    Very clever! I’m glad that you’ve found a way to wear and love these!

    • puu says:

      thanks, ginger! i am really, really working on fixing the bits that bother me, because there is always something else about it that i love and want to keep. i guess it’s a new year’s resolution or something…

Leave a Reply

