weekend sewing studio: in which no actual sewing happened, but an FO debuted

i’ve been having a serious handsewing phase lately, which is shocking. usually handsewing = area 51 in my house. but something about the weather and the easy laziness of watching project runway and crime show reruns (there’s a mix for you) + handsewing (productivity!) kept me going through a really tough week.

20130310-191228.jpg

20130310-191251.jpg

so here is my first official finished garment from my dyed fabric i created over the summer.

20130310-191311.jpg

and, since oona has been nagging me lately to let the details of my work show – woman, there is a reason i like high-contrast images that obscure me and my punim – let’s try this one on for size:

tie dye baby doll front
tie dye baby doll back

don’t let that cheerful persona fool you. oona is one bossy lady.
BUT.  considering that she didn’t laugh at my RENT poster this weekend – especially since i probably know the libretto almost as well as she does, without the excuse of having, you know, been in it, i think she’s also pretty awesome.

photograph from male pattern boldness

i am pretty sure this is the first weekend since my mom got sick in 2009 that i not only had plans, but had a chance to have friends over.

we had the added pleasure of lauren t from LLADYBIRD gracing us with her presence. i can honestly say i cannot wait to have her back in town again.

photograph from male pattern boldness

in fact, the only proper response was a celebration.

photograph from male pattern boldness

and a swap. that is me and nettie hoarding all of the good bits before we went to join the massive meetup of amazing people at mood.  i can’t list everyone, because i didn’t even get to talk to everyone, but ladies, you were awesome.

NO.  you totally were.

i was not the only excited one.

20130310-191412.jpg

i am pretty sure that it was one of the best days of my cat’s life.  there was fabric to fight with, bags to explore, and many people who obviously came solely for the purpose of finding out how nice it is to rub his tummy.

i am shamelessly stealing the photographs that peter took. i am hoping he will forgive me – because after all, i did feed him. except then on sunday he helped me fix one of my featherweights. it was like, dr. sewing machine, right there. we had to diagnose this:

20130310-191536.jpg

and decide what i needed. hmm. so i might still be in peter’s debt even before i stole his photographs. but i didn’t take any – for a photographer, i am certainly awkward about asking other people to pose – except for this one of the cat (in a mood bag, as one does) and of willy (proof that i have been to the peter lappin sewing machine museum).

20130310-191336.jpg

hey, meg@mood….if you ever need a replacement mascot, look no farther than indiana jones. :-)

20130310-191353.jpgpattern details:

fitted top from alabama studio sewing + design, cropped and finished as a babydoll top.  all of the seams were machine-stitched and then hand-finished with a parallel whipstitch. the binding is plain black knit and finished with a catchstitch.

20130310-191321.jpg

This entry was posted in Finished Objects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to weekend sewing studio: in which no actual sewing happened, but an FO debuted

  1. Brenda says:

    What a perfect crowd to be your first break back into weekend plans and entertaining! All good! And I LOVE your top – the colours, the stitching, the whole darn thing!

  2. Rosie says:

    It is always great to see you and Saturday was no exception (albeit short). Love the top! Kitty needs another bag!

  3. SailAway says:

    It’s wonderful to finally see a finished shirt from our tyedying dallies. It inspires me to finish my pieces from that afternoon!

    I’m glad you had a good birthday weekend :) hopefully the 🍓🍓🍓 will arrive shortly.

  4. You’re a better woman than I. I still avoid handsewing like the plague. This top is really cute, and yay, I got to see it in person. :) You’re right–the blogoddesses are awesome. What a lovely bunch. And I second Indiana Jones’ nomination for Swatch backup replacement.
    Take care
    Shelley

    • puu says:

      shelley, you’ll have to adjust, i am afraid. :-) as susan said to us on day one of the chanel experience, “i hope you ladies LOVE fell-stitching!” plus, it is so easy to pretend to be productive while hand-stitching that i may never go back to the machine ;-)

  5. gingermakes says:

    OK, this is crazy, but I’ve been thinking about Indiana Jones ever since I left your place and I’m really wishing I’d been able to smuggle him out in his Mood bag! He’s too rad!

    Thanks again for hosting– you’re the hostess with the mostest, and it was so fun to see all your photos! Hope to see you soon!

    • puu says:

      yeah, he has that effect on people. :-) you had me cracking up all day, ginger, and i look forward to having the experience again!

  6. Megan says:

    Wow, a house full of superstars – so cool! I love seeing your close-up pictures and the top is excellent :)

  7. LLADYBIRD says:

    Love this recap! Thanks so much again for letting us wreak havok in your home pre-meetup… I am still reeling with jealousy over your awesome cat and awesome sewing room (for real, you’re going to come home one night and I will have made myself a little nest on one of the shelves :) With the cat as my shelf-mate, ha). Totally stealing some of these pictures, don’t hate!

    I had such a wonderful time visiting and meeting you – I cannot wait to come back! Y’all gotta let me know if you see cheap plane tickets pop up :)

    • puu says:

      yay! thank you, lauren! you would not be the first person to take up residence in that room or threaten to steal the affections of my cat :-)

  8. Pingback: Odds & Ends + Pattern Geekout: Deer & Doe Spring-Summer ’13! | Ginger Makes...

  9. Pingback: regarding the fat quarter challenge | puu's door of time

Leave a Reply

