guys, i FIXED MY OWN MACHINE

well, mostly. peter really fixed it for me, only we realized that we needed a new part. and then i just copied his every move.

20130315-092008.jpg

my beautiful featherweight #2, with the gorgeous quiet motor and the measured throat plate, decided that it wasn’t interested in tension anymore.  tension, the machine was saying, is for wusses.

20130315-092039.jpg

so we took that baby apart to show it who’s boss.  above is the troublesome tension spring, happily in situ and unaware that we have its number.

20130315-092031.jpgmy hero.  purchased from sew-classic.

20130315-092046.jpg

behold, my vanquished foe!  i was very, very nervous about taking apart the machine without supervision but i realized that i would practically have to move in with peter (and michael AND the dogs) if i didn’t get over my fear and at least try it by myself after seeing him take apart and re-assemble the tension assembly four or five times over the weekend.

but guess what?  turns out the instruction manual is totally useful.  brings a whole new meaning to the old hacker slang of “RTFM.”

20130315-092053.jpg

and voila!  beautiful stitches.

20130315-092112.jpg

a huge improvement over sunday’s travesty, no?

the end.

i’ve been continuing to work on chanel #2 and last night finished the body of the jacket.  i had the quilting a lot more under control yesterday, and i felt less silly doing it after putting everything together.    but just to echo clio’s comment, for this fabric, i am really, really glad that i did not go full-on chanel.  i can tell just by feeling the quilted fabric that it would never be as nice or as soft as my completed specimen, and i would have felt like i wasted a lot of time.

what’s on your sewing table this weekend?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to guys, i FIXED MY OWN MACHINE

  1. Aleksandra says:

    Hurray for bravery! Aren’t those ancient Singer manuals great? They have so much take-apart information in them. I love the one for my 338!

  2. nettie says:

    GO DEVRA!!! That’s so cool! I might need your guidance when I pick up my grandma’s old machines.

  3. Brenda says:

    Woah! That’s like forced maturity! Like realizing there is no Santa Claus! Hmmm, I’m in denial, I like my machine tech. I don’t want to know!!! ;)
    Good for you! Yet another trait I admire in you!

  4. Clio says:

    I’m so wishing I knew how to maintenance my own machine. My SM is still in the shop. So, I’m going to spend some time with my granny’s machine today. I’ve got about a six projects in my head vying for attention and I’m not sure which to do first. Too much mojo and not enough hours in the day!

  5. oonaballoona says:

    hey! i could come back over and break it if you want! i’ll bring donuts…

    (did he give you that camera??)

  6. Rosie says:

    LMAO at “RTFM”. So glad it was something simple!

  7. megthegrand says:

    THAT IS AWESOME. Well done, my friend! Definitely a fabulous skill to have!!

Leave a Reply

