return to camp chanel: how to make friends and influence people

20130324-193124.jpg

answer:  be the crazy lady with the cat on a leash.
guess who went to camp today?

20130324-193136.jpg

susan and my fellow inmates kindly invited me to bring a guest to class today for extra company.

20130324-193204.jpg

needless to say, he was a huge hit with all of the ladies.

then, having made his presence known, he settled down to serious business.

20130324-221920.jpg

20130324-193151.jpg

meanwhile, i quilted. after nearly going blind yesterday squinting at my thread tracing, susan and i came up with this ribbon technique for marking out my quilting lines. it was pretty genius. as usual, i couldn’t quite keep my lines straight, but overall i was quite pleased with the result. i actually got the “wooly mammoth” (susan’s term) basted together and re-fitted.

20130324-215022.jpg

the boucle has so much loft that even a 2-muslin fitting process still needs to be tweaked in fashion fabric. in my case, we needed to drop the shoulders (again) and nip in the back a bit for a smooth and slim fit.

20130324-215011.jpg

and for the bossy ladies out there, a few detail shots (with a bonus look at my newly-ombre hair):

20130324-193216.jpg

my workroom/hotel room, with my homework spread out on the desk. after i quilted, knotted and basted today, i decided to get a jump start on tomorrow by starting to clean up some of those seams. i fell-stitched the side seams so that i can start my sleeves tomorrow. i also pin-basted my SF and SB seams so that when i check my sleeve layouts tomorrow i can also commit to my godets. right now, the choice is between two godets (one in each center front/side front seam) and four godets (adding two at the back/side back joins). however, since i am literally going to use every scrap of fabric eeking this garment out, i need to consider carefully and know what i am about before another milimeter of fabric gets cut.

20130324-215034.jpg

parting shot of my quilted fabric, and in this shot you can actually see the amazing ombre rainbow swirling over the boucle. what do you think of the lining? in general, i am a bit “meh” on the absurd quantities of marc jacobs prints at mood, but in this instance, both of my chosen lining fabrics are marc jacobs. in this instance, a crepe-de-chine. i was really curious to see how the crepe felt against my skin (answer: amazing) and compare it to the charmeuse i used last time.

 

This entry was posted in In Progress. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to return to camp chanel: how to make friends and influence people

  1. gingermakes says:

    Ahhhhhhh! Indy!!!!! I love him. I can’t get over it! But dude– this coat is going to be amazing! I love the colors in the boucle!

  2. Tia Dia says:

    OMG – this jacket is going to be so beautiful! Thanks for sharing all the photos, and I do hope you share lots more of the process!

  3. Rosie says:

    I told you Indy would be a hit at class. So happy he made it to class and I bet the ladies loved him. LOL “wooly mammoth” – is gorgeous.

  4. Pingback: Odds & Ends + Pattern Geekout: Deer & Doe Spring-Summer ’13! | Ginger Makes...

  5. LLADYBIRD says:

    Oh my goddddd I love that cat.

  6. Clio says:

    Nice on the skin lining is soooooooo nice! I like the print.

  7. oonaballoona says:

    i was wondering what was going on with that ponytail! DETAIL GLAMOUR SHOT!!

    indy must be really pleased that you bought all that lovely fabric and traveled to baltimore so he could hold court. that cat rules.

  8. Pingback: WIP updates: little (or long) french jackets | puu's door of time

  9. Pingback: jacket progress continues! with photos | puu's door of time

  10. Pingback: butterick 5952: cry hallelujah, it is finished | puu's door of time

  11. Pingback: new look 6028: the original shortcut-style chanel jacket | puu's door of time

Leave a Reply

