chugging away on vogue 1207

believe it or not, i am still sort of in recovery from this year’s camp chanel. working on two jackets was exhilarating but also hugely exhausting, and at the end of the week i was so excited to be back outside, in my garden, and focused on something different that i needed to ride that wave for a while and let my other work come back to me.

to help myself along, i set a task: finish V1207 in time for my sister’s hooding ceremony at her graduate school.

20130430-142400.jpg
and i’ve been slowly…

20130430-142418.jpg

slowly…

20130430-142331.jpg

painstakingly…

20130430-142325.jpg

forcing myself to meet that goal.

20130430-142317.jpg

even though i’m feeling much more like i’d rather be doing this.

20130430-142346.jpg

20130430-142338.jpg

and this fabric, while gorgeous – and VERSACE, for crying out loud – is shockingly problematic. i am not convinced it is 100% silk, just because of its texture and its ornery-ness as i was attempting to cut it. (i also think it might be time to sharpen my serrated edge ginghers)

20130430-142407.jpg

it also doesn’t help that it literally took me six months to figure out how to fit this pattern.
because i am an idiot.

so i have my usual method of using my sloper with an existing pattern, right?

great. only it wasn’t until two weeks ago that i realized the reason i wasn’t getting my moulage to fit properly – i kept thinking i needed to add two inches to the shoulder seam, when i usually have to do the opposite – is because this pattern isn’t a set-in sleeve.

doh.

it’s a raglan. once i realized i needed to account for the shoulder height and slope by taping on the raglan sleeve, it fit almost perfectly. i even made a muslin. i was completely in business. except for the cutting bit. (BOOOO on dull scissors!!)

so, meanwhile, i continue to do a few seams a night while i mostly veg out to “the fabulous beekman boys” and “the amazing race,” cycle 21. (yes, those two things are related. and i completely adore the beekman boys.) i decided to underline the lining instead of the fashion fabric because the versace print is also a little more sheer than i remembered it being, and i didn’t want the underlining to interfere with a clean drape on the main dress. i am really glad i made this decision, because the main garment has a lot of pleating and draping, and the lining substitutes all of that with simple darts, making it a better fit for underlining in the first place. i hope.

and meanwhile, a flower from my garden to share with you all.

20130430-152715.jpg

This entry was posted in In Progress and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to chugging away on vogue 1207

  1. oonaballoona says:

    this all made me smile. does that make you feel better about the dull scissors???

  2. I have this pattern…. I think I’ve had it for almost 2 years!!!!
    To scared to bust it open. The fabric suggestions alone have scared me..
    Can’t wait to see the finished dress :):)

    • puu says:

      i felt the same way about the pattern! but i feel better now, especially since i got over my raglan stupidity goof. :-)

  3. Lisette says:

    You’re a powerhouse…it’s like you’re running a sewing marathon! I hope it will be worth all the hard work you put into it. I, however, will be lounging around like your kitty because I’m a lazy sewer :)

  4. Tia Dia says:

    I’ve missed this dress from Vogue patterns. What a great fabric you’ll be wearing this in, and that underlining colour alone is enough to make me say “yummy!” What a lot of work and time and care. It will be truly worth it! :)

    • puu says:

      it’s true, for a while i was almost more excited about the gorgeous pinky-red. i hope it will look as good in real life as it does in my head :-)

  5. Pella says:

    The pattern looks lovely, if tricky. The fabric’s wonderful too. I’m sure you’ll get there, and it will be worth it.

  6. Gjeometry says:

    Looks like it’s going to be a lovely dress! So much work, and such pretty fabric.

  7. sailaway007 says:

    You’re going to look better than I will! this dress is purty

  8. Clio says:

    Ooh, I love the dramatic back! I think a sanity break after a major project or two is entirely deserved. Loafing can do wonders for the mojo.

    • puu says:

      i hope so! the low back detail is actually what sold the dress for me, so i am looking forward to seeing how that works.

  9. poppykettle says:

    damn that versace fabric is fine. But just because it’s lovely-ness incarnate, doesn’t give it the right to misbehave like that. or does it? hmmm. I adore this pattern though… it’s going to be jus’ gore-juss!

    • puu says:

      I agree, I am not sure if that fancy pedigree makes up for the misbehavior :-). I’ll have to see how we do when it is time to make all of the pleats and do those sleeves!

  10. Zoe says:

    Hi! Love the fabric you chose! Have. You got a picture of the finished dress? I won this pattern through a giveaway and I’m rather baffled by the reviews! Some love it, others hate it and everyone seems to have fit issues :o what advice can you give me?

    • puu says:

      honestly, the finished dress is terrible. count me in the “hate it” camp, not only because of fit issues, but because of drafting issues and general dislike of the final result. :-( i would recommend doing a muslin of the bodice and the skirt, to make sure you like the way the skirt hangs, because that was my biggest disappointment. that, or, if you really like the bodice, try using a different skirt pattern with it.

Leave a Reply

