vogue 1207: chunk, chunk, chunk.

that would be the noise my sewing machine kept making as it churned through my versace silk.

20130509-100509.jpg

chunk, chunk, chunk, chunk.

and taking a little piece of my soul with it each time.

part of it is my fault, because i started with a size 11 needle.
too big.

microtex?
too big.

20130509-100542.jpg

i went through my entire stash of needles, looking for a size 9. nothing.

chunk, chunk, chunk.

and then, at long last, as i was starting the french seams to put the sides together, i found this buried in a supply drawer.

20130509-100523.jpg

unfortunately, no chorus of sewing angels awaited me.
the damage had been done.

20130509-100516.jpg

i was about ready to give up in despair when i decided to at least attach the lining layers to the fashion fabric layers. and, as one does, i saw immediately an entirely new vision.

20130509-100529.jpg

so i’m going to keep on plugging away. all that is left is several hours of handsewing: two hems, a zipper, and tacking the sleeve pleats in place. and then a vicious, vicious pressing.

20130509-100535.jpg

This entry was posted in In Progress and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to vogue 1207: chunk, chunk, chunk.

  1. Clio says:

    Oh dear. Chunk chunk chunk is a very not good sound. But this bratty fabric (it’s bratty, isn’t it?) does look spectacular on the dress form. Fingers crossed for you.

  2. Alex in California says:

    “…a viscious, vicious pressing.” LOL. Been there, still do that.

  3. Yikes! That has definitely happened to me before (both the chunking and frantic needle search!), but I’m glad that you were able to turn it into a catalyst for something new. This looks like it’s going to be gorgeous!

  4. THOSE COLORS! *swoon* I hate the chunk chunk sound – it makes me sick to my core. I am also afraid of all the silk in my stash – so you are officially my hero for rocking this Versace!

  5. Gjeometry says:

    Yes, the right needle makes all the difference in the world. I’ve gone “both ways” used too big a needle on thin cotton voile (it just got sucked down into the feed dogs) and used too small a needle on trouser weight fabric (broke it clean in half). Your top is looking so pretty!!! Lovely fabric.

    • puu says:

      What is crazy is how little the 9 helped. Enough to make a difference but not enough to stop the sound!!

      • Gjeometry says:

        That’s weird! Maybe there is something wrong with the tensions settings and it is pulling the thread tight and making it kind of ‘thud’ everytime it lowers into the fabric?

      • puu says:

        I wondered that too but it did not seem to be the issue. I think it was my fabric rebelling 😄

        Sent from my iPhone

  6. oonaballoona says:

    GORGEOUS. i just had the same issue with some thin cotton. why did i ignore the chunk and plug away with my 80/12?!

    that print will save Everything. maybe even The World.

  7. Pella says:

    Lovely! Mine’s currently not clunking or chunking but skipping stitches on a fine jersey. So far I’ve tried several microtex needles, stretch needles and ball needles. I’m carrying on regardless.

  8. Leisa says:

    I’ve said it before and its worth saying again…..you have lovely taste in fabric!! Can’t wait to see how this looks finished, beautiful :-)

  9. thewallinna says:

    Oh! This lining changes everything :)

Leave a Reply

