papercut patterns: copelia

20130927-094855.jpg

one of my main plans before i got distracted by the nice weather was do do up a collection of interesting knits in bright, coordinating colors, and to finish them alabama-chanin-style.  i went straight for this insane coral/pink/red/orange when i saw it on the bolt at mood because, unusual as it sounds, it actually went with a lot of what i was working on (like the black speckled knit i have it paired with in the photo).

also, as you may recall, most of the fabric i’ve been buying this year has been meant to interpret some of what i call my “house” inspirations.  that is, i’ve been wanting to celebrate some of the colors and textures i surround myself with at my house in the catskills.  and this color hits top of the chart in that category.

IMG_1285so, i knew straightaway that i wanted this insane almost-orange-red and that i wanted to do it as a copelia cardigan from papercut patterns.  i’ve written before about papercut patterns and have made up several josephine Ts with a fair bit of success, but i had specific ideas for this one.  namely, my plan to leave all of the edges raw and stitch them down by hand using a parallel whipstitch.

20130927-094820.jpglike so.

20130927-094828.jpgi especially like that on this fabric because you can see all of the different textures it has to offer:  smooth and washed out, saturated with streaks of yellow.  i used up an extremely old stash of variegated DMC floss (how old?  try 8th grade) to go around every seam except the sleeves.

20130927-094835.jpgi just think it adds some cool visual interest to an otherwise basic wardrobe staple.

ok, i say “basic wardrobe staple”, but i don’t mean that in a bad way.  i think this is one of those patterns where you make it up a few times and then it becomes a go-to in all different kinds of knits because it is so easy to wear.  i’d love to follow in lauren’s footsteps, for example, and make it up in something luxe and warm for fall/winter.

20130927-094909.jpgand then, just because it is friday:  a cat picture.

20130927-095022.jpgany good plans this weekend?  i need to plant a blueberry, but other than that i am going to catch up on some movie watching and maybe even finish a few WIPs.  that or fix the blocked drain in my kitchen!

This entry was posted in Finished Objects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to papercut patterns: copelia

  1. Leila says:

    I like what you’ve done with your “basic”. I agree that basics aren’t a bad thing but it sure is fun to make a basic stand out. This weekend, I’m hoping to get some sewing done on my Victorian day costume.

  2. Gjeometry says:

    Ooooh, I love this wrap top! I have never seen a finish like that before. I’m assuming alabama-channin style means that railroad track or staples embroidery finish? I love it. And, with the raw edges, it looks so artistic. I’m going to have to look up how to do this and give it a try with some of the thin delicate knit I have that I’m afraid to sew with. This weekend, I am finishing off my 2 Diane Von Furstenberg knit dresses. The 1970s LIVES here in my place this weekend. :)

  3. Clio says:

    See I wouldn’t call it basic. could you wear it with everything? yep. But it’s a really one of a kind piece that will always call attention to itself. It’s fabulous! And A+ on the color.

    I am actually going to finish a top and then work on my next skirt while I decide which of the 10 things that are in various stages of planning are up next. ;-)

  4. prttynpnk says:

    I love the personalization- it’s why we do this, right? Love it on you.

  5. poppykettle says:

    Gorgeous. It’s little details like this that I love adding to everyday staples :)

  6. Kristin says:

    I love this top on you! I keep seeing it pop up and every version is just perfect. The color is just amazing as well. Great job!

  7. This is a great looking top. I love that you are customizing your wardrobe in such a personal way! The hand detail is awesome!

Leave a Reply

