la coco, elle est terminee (jacket #2 complete!)

from such humble beginnings as this photo:

935we come to the end of this year’s french jacket journey.

anyone need a pattern weight?

anyone need a pattern weight?

there’s not much left to say at this point, except a few finishing details.

the trim is secured across the hem, collar, lapels, sleeves and CFs with two rows of hand-stitching, mostly through the ribbon but with the occasional stitch taken through the pearls.  (we are talking 12 hours of handstitching here.  an entire round-trip train journey to boston and then some.)

those damn pearls.  KEPT.  BREAKING.  OFF.

IMG_0043

the lapels, collar and CFs are fringed by hand.  it was both a design feature and a necessity, since i did not have enough fabric to allow for a proper seam allowance that would in turn allow me to fringe it more securely.  the roll line is taped with organza, and the lapels are a single layer.

IMG_0038

were i to do it again, i would (against susan’s orders) cut a layer of lining to match the shape and size of the lapels and undercollar, and quilt those like i did on the inside.  this would give me both the extra seamline (to secure the fringe from unraveling) and a little bit of extra weight.  but neither susan nor i knew that then, when she gave me her look of dubious approval that was mixed affection and questioning my sanity.

IMG_0030

the trim and camelia pin are both from M&J trimming in manhattan.  so are the buttons.  there are no sleeve vents on my half-sleeves, i just thought buttons would be pretty.

IMG_0027

i left a generous seam allowance intact at the shoulder seam to form a sleeve head.  so even though the boucle is super-lofty, i really like the shape of the shoulder.IMG_0025

what do you think of the length?  i’m slightly on the fence.  it’s actually the perfect length for a miniskirt or a pair of shorts – but i am concern that the volume added by the godets is too much volume for that type of look.  discuss.

IMG_0013 IMG_0012 IMG_0009

a final interior shot provided by jennifer of workroom social.DSC_0763

This entry was posted in Finished Objects and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to la coco, elle est terminee (jacket #2 complete!)

  1. Anita says:

    Just lovely!

  2. Clio says:

    Well, you already know that I love this and am so excited to see it done! If it was mine, I’d wear it with leggings and skinny jeans with boots, but I think you would totally rock it with a mini or shorts with tights for cool weather.

  3. LLADYBIRD says:

    It’s beautiful! And yes, totally perfect to wear over a miniskirt. Don’t question, just do!

  4. Mary says:

    LOVE IT! The length is a fresh take on a classic style. What a lot of work–and well worth it, I think!

  5. Peter says:

    I too think the length is refreshing. I think it’s gorgeous. I don’t quite get why your fringe is unraveling but I love the fragile look of the fabric. It’s really something special.

  6. I said it once and I’ll say it again, this jacket is marvelous! I know the length, but what about the sleeves?? I just love the sleeves.

  7. oonaballoona says:

    yep, that length rocks. i STILL can’t get enough of that lining!!

  8. poppykettle says:

    It’s farking gorgeous. I LURVE the trim and the collar… I wouldn’t have a clue where to start on the styling/matching-other-clothing-items to it though!!! It’s so seriously gorgeous boucle and the lining – it’s a pansy print, right? Love it.

    • puu says:

      melanie – yes, it’s a pansy print. marc jacobs apparently did an entire line of them and all of the bolts ended up at mood. i’m a bit obsessed with it. i have it in another colorway as well and am using it as a lining on another piece.

  9. nettie says:

    Beautiful!!! Happy New Year and kisses to you and my favorite cat!!

  10. prttynpnk says:

    I adore this! It has so much personality and feeling- this is a winner! Many victory laps ahead!

  11. Tia Dia says:

    Love it. The shape is perfect and the little sleeves are darling.

  12. Joanne says:

    Oh.My.Word. Your jackets have left me speechless. I loved your initial purple one, but these two are spectacular.
    I finished my first and second with Susan and would like to attempt a third (one needs 5-7 ,right?) but fI ind myself leaning on the same style, yours have given me new perspective.
    Please let me know where you got your two new fabrics and are they are a black tweedy?
    My first french jacket with Susan is the the black “sister” fabric of your purple from MG.
    And yes, I am crazy enough to take another class with her again in the future!
    Thank you so much.
    Best,
    Joanne

  13. Joanne says:

    Oh, and I forgot. Do NOT alter the length. Perfect with jeans as you said. Proportioned to your height. Love the godets.

    • puu says:

      thank you! i love the longer length. my original purple one was super-cropped so i went the opposite. all of the boucle i’ve used so far is from mendel goldberg. i have two other boucles from mood fabrics, but frankly i do not think they are suitable for this type of project. the linings are both from mood, because mood’s prices on designer silk are much more reasonable than at mendel goldberg.

  14. This is seriously beautiful and cool at the same time…Coco would have been so proud :)

  15. Megan says:

    Your jacket is awesome. It really suits you and I love the fabric and trim. I am inspired to get mine back out and finish the darn thing!

  16. Lisette says:

    I actually really love this! I’m not a fan of the Chanel jacket, especially the boxy cut ones, but I would absolutely wear this. The trim is such a great touch.

  17. Marina says:

    Gorgeous jacket – makes me want another one for myself :) And I love proportions and the length, the trim and the fringe… Great job! Enjoy wearing it

  18. Leisa says:

    How did I miss this??? , seriously Devra i…this jacket is gorgeous. Congratulations indeed.

  19. Pingback: me-made-everyday: style report | puu's door of time

Leave a Reply

