happy birthday oona: may it be full of unicorns and rainbows #fqchallenge

20140805-135214.jpgso, good things do come to those who wait. i know a lot of people have been eagerly anticipating the results of the fat quarter challenge

20140804-222423-80663432.jpg

– oh, wait, that was just me? because my garment is so freaking awesome? that’s right, project runway ain’t got nuthin’ on this ensemble.

 

20140804-222424-80664640.jpg

BOOYAH

and wait, what is that i see? a clear, full photograph? HAPPY BIRTHDAY, OONA. now let’s not discuss it again until next august.

20140804-222422-80662829.jpg

i swear that lens flare is not there on purpose, oona

like most of the rest of the fashion universe, i have been obsessed with two-piece sets, or co-ords, a term i swear i have never heard before and i was a child of the nineties appropriately obsessed with clueless.

20140804-222426-80666015.jpg

as if!

the genesis of this set was the idea of the fifties-style playsuit.  ignoring the fact that this “playsuit” would be illegal on most televisions in the 1950s, i think i succeeded with an appropriately modern twist.

20140804-222425-80665422.jpg

that’s right, i’m livin’ on the edge of the law

i started with two simplicity patterns, both by cynthia rowley.  my favorite of favorite bodices, simplicity 2250, had a love-at-first-sight moment with a newer release, simplicity 1607, and before i knew it they had procreated themselves straight to this.

20140805-135236.jpg

since this is an oona challenge, cocktails were undoubtedly involved.

the original guidelines stated that all of the FQs needed to be used and visible, so i treated the bodice pattern as a building block and made each piece out of a different fat quarter.

20140805-135252.jpgsome stash china silk lining and red cotton broadcloth unified all of the elements into one cohesive top.  no mean feat, amirite?

20140805-135152.jpgand then for the bottoms i wanted a more modern short than any of my fifties options offered, so i turned immediately to the papercut pattern rite of spring short.  this is my TNT short pattern, guys, even though i am still perfecting my construction technique.

20140805-135207.jpgi used pockets copied from my favorite ready-to-wear jeans using kenneth king’s jean-ius class to highlight other fabrics from the bundle and then created pieced bias tape using a technique from modern mix, one of my quilting books, for the racing stripe effect.  each stripe was finished with bias tape (also homemade) on one side and white piping on the other for a clean look. i finished the waistband with a piece of red polka dot poly grosgrain.

20140804-222424-80664037.jpghere’s the best part:  i will TOTALLY wear this in public.  as a set, as separates…it is already packed for an upcoming family weekend in laguna beach.  i wonder if the high-and-mighty LA fashion set will understand my vision?

20140805-151622.jpg

nah.  probably too sophisticated!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to happy birthday oona: may it be full of unicorns and rainbows #fqchallenge

  1. K-Line says:

    This truly is awesome. The rainbows make it.

  2. Heather Lou says:

    YA GIRL! You look great – like Rainbrow Bright for today and it is fabulous! And that tight little tummy isn’t hurting NOBODY!

    Also, it is lovely to see you outside without filter, I must say.

  3. Clio says:

    Wooo hoo! You definitely captured the playsuit vibe in about half the fabric. LOL I really can’t decide what I like best, the rainbow bustier or unicorn pocket…

  4. I think I hate you right now! *LOL* Seriously you managed to get all of those FQs into a garment! Mine is going to look so boring compared to this unicorn and marigold splendor.

  5. oonaballoona says:

    you are off that charts insane AND I LOVE IT!!!! never would i have imagined that these fat quarters would have such a happy life. oh, and your zipper head is upside down, right? i meant to do that on carolyn’s dress!

  6. nettie says:

    SPARKLE UNICORN PRETTY PRETTY PRINCESS OF RAINBOWLAND!!!! I love this and I love you! And these photos in my favorite place in NY ;o)

  7. gingermakes says:

    Gahhhhhh! So crystal clear! So unicorn! So rainbow!

  8. Freaking awesome.i love this bodice design on you. This is too cool for school.

  9. You are so stinkin’ adorable I really can’t stand it. This was so clever and creative, and the cut of those shorts is so flattering on you! You better WERK that belly button.

  10. So gorgeous this looks so amazing! I wish I wasn’t hugely pregnant right now so I could copy you :)

  11. CarmencitaB says:

    I am flabbergasted by such unicorn-rainbow-awesomness. Happy to see this will get some California action!

  12. Susan says:

    Omgeeeeeee woman…wow, wow wow. Amaze balls. Grand slam. You are ze cutest! (This is one of those comments which I almost didn’t submit because gush-boring-gush. But I hadta.)

  13. LLADYBIRD says:

    GIRL. You are HOTT. I can say that, right?? This whole outfit of unicorn splendor is just delighting me on so many levels. Fat quarter WIN, I say!!

  14. Lisette says:

    Woowee! I feel bad for the ladies who have to post after you! The top is all sorts of fabulous and the shorts look straight out of my favorite 70s pattern catalogs with the way you’ve colorblocked the pockets. Like, Marcia Brady would have sported those!

  15. scruffybadger says:

    Incredible!! And with rainbows??? The most awesome two piece ever!!

  16. Gjeometry says:

    Oh my gosh, this is TOO adorable! I love all the colours and patch pockets. It’s 1970s, and you need to get yourself to the roller disco pronto!

  17. RAINBOW UNICORN PLAYSUIT! This is everything. Can you wear it to the next sewing happy hour?

  18. Trice says:

    OH how fun is this outfit? This came out great.
    When will you be in Cali?

  19. Pingback: Oona’s Fat Quarter Challenge Reveal! » Lolita Patterns

  20. Lyric says:

    Girl, you totally rocked it! I was sew wondering what you gals were going to do. The two I’ve seen are stupendous. I realized as a big gal (size 2 xl) this would NOT have worked for me, LOL.

    Cheers,

    Lyric

Leave a Reply

