style in the wild: liberty, leather and lace

i’m hoping a few style posts will help me get back in the mood.

20121010-100536.jpg

pattern:  simplicity 2248 in liberty of london “paper roses”
sweater:  black cashmere with ruffle lace at neckline
stockings:  wolford “twenties”
mom’s pearls

it’s time, more than time, to go through my closet, pull out my mistakes, and figure out if i should refashion them or just move on.  also, it’s time to create some real outfits that i can go to again and again–a few mini-wardrobes, as it were, so that i can mix and match but not be paralyzed with indecision every morning (especially on mornings when i have already overslept).

this dress, though, is a keeper.  more than a keeper, it is one i should make again.  what do you think of this combo:

maybe with the back yoke as a sheer?  and the crossover wrap in a nice, rich black?

This entry was posted in Style. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to style in the wild: liberty, leather and lace

  1. megthegrand says:

    Yes. Yes to absolutely everything in this post. I love your dress – perfection, really – and I LOVE your ideas for your next version!!

  2. prttynpnk says:

    Oh, you are an inspiration! I keep dismissing this pattern as a little bridesmaidy, but yours is lovely and the sheer panel idea sounds just the thing!

    • puu says:

      firstly, thanks 🙂
      also, i hadn’t considered it before, but you are so right – the pattern photo definitely suggests bridesmaid! maybe that is why i went running in the opposite direction, with my vaguely punky purple print and leather…hmmm…

  3. gingermakes says:

    Oh, that bright floral would be AMAZING! Make it!

  4. Hah! I had the bridesmaid dismissal thought too! Can’t wait to see what you do with that fantastic floral and some sheer!

  5. I like that combo! I totally need to do the same closet clean out. And I’ve also been thinking about creating more of a streamlined wardrobe, especially since I seem to have a bunch of me-made summer clothes, but not a lot for this chilly weather coming on!

Leave a comment