sit-n-sew and stormasaurus

20121025-225833.jpg

traffic outside the delaware welcome center

look, i’m sorry, but WTF, delaware?  i wasn’t bothering anyone.  it was 10pm on a wednesday night.  and this is how you greet me as i make my way southward for my favorite weekend of the year?

it was an inauspicious start on a weekend when i was already having difficulty concentrating.  keeping up with my recent inability to focus long enough to get any sewing done, i stuck with pattern work.  kenneth helped me draft the etro jacket.  he made a sketch for me in my notebook as i took copious notes and tried to follow the directions.  kenneth suggested that i work it out in half scale as i attempted to match his diagram.

20121025-225845.jpg

italian red leather gorgeousness

i’m sure this is no-brainer for a lot of folks, but working in half-scale before redrafting in full-scale was a revelation in terms of my pattern making.  it was so much easier to keep tracing and experimenting with a half-scale bodice, and then totally understand what i was doing when i went to the full scale.  i was able to recreate kenneth’s sketch almost entirely on my own – a major score, i’d say.  even kenneth was pleased!

20121025-225814.jpg

mini-scale and full-scale

my next concern was keeping the vibe going with some pattern magic.  i brought volumes 1 and 2 and chose four or five patterns that i particularly liked.  i had (honestly) hoped that kenneth would draft them for me while i watched, but – drat the man – he again made a few sketches and left me to my own devices.

20121025-225825.jpg

pattern magic bamboo leaf bodice

i was, however, able to make mini-patterns of all my bookmarked pattern magic designs, so i guess kenneth had the right idea in the end…

speaking of the end, my weekend ended early.

can i introduce you to stormasaurus sandy?  i hope that wherever you are, it is either far away from the storm or that you emerged unscathed.  frankly, i feel lucky that all i’m going through is an extended blackout (i am south of 34th st) and traffic checkpoints (i work on the jersey side of the lincoln tunnel).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

