me made may and hanging out with workroom social

 

 

MMM14logolarge

i, devra of puu’s door of time, hereby endeavor to wear at least one me-made-garment for each work day of may, 2014.  i also endeavor to wear me-made garments (at least one per outfit) for the duration of my NY-LON trip between may 15 and may 20.

20140502-114520.jpg

may 1, 2014 – datura blouse in liberty symposium, elizabeth & james black leggings, blue chanel ballet flats. and yeah, i actually did go out of the house with my hair looking like that.

so here’s the thing.  it’s my first official me-made-may.  i’ve never jumped in before, but as my handmade wardrobe has grown and changed and i’ve mixed up entirely new outfits and combos that i never could have imagined, i realized i wanted to focus a little bit on how i like to wear and style my DIY.

couple that with carolyn’s recent question about professional wear, and i had a few parameters.  and a caveat:  obviously, in a properly conservative work environment, most of my outfits would (at a minimum) get me sent straight to HR for a lecture on appropriately professional and feminine business attire.  and don’t get me wrong, i work for one of the largest REITs on the east coast.  but i’ve also been here for five years, and have demonstrated that i can dress like a grown up when i have to, so most people accept me as part of the scenery.  so here, then, is my documentation of how i style my outfits for a professional environment.

that, and i spent most of my weekends this time of year in the garden.  and i actually wear a bunch of me-made t-shirts while i do that.  but i think there is a limit to how many times my mom jeans, foul-weather boots and firefly t-shirt would be tolerated as fashion.

20140502-120134.jpg

“we will rule over all this land! and we will call it….THIS LAND!”

 

but this week i am forsaking the garden for the WORKROOM SOCIAL POPUP PARTY!

because sewists absolutely throw the best parties. courtesy of workroom social.

will you be there??

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to me made may and hanging out with workroom social

  1. Devra – can’t wait to see you tomorrow night! But we must behave, no more challenges! *LOL*

  2. I will be there! See you soon…

  3. Susan says:

    I WISH I was there, waaaah! Next time. Happy MMM!

  4. Angela says:

    Yay! I’ll be there!

  5. angela says:

    I so so wish I was there! Have a great time! Can’t wait to see your MMM!

Leave a Reply

