#fqchallenge bonus garment! because i use all the parts of the buffalo

20140902-095240.jpg
of course, technically it wasn’t allowed, but i did have some scraps left over from my #fqchallenge masterplan. see, originally i was going to really go overboard and make a skirt and blouse to go over my playsuit, sort of like this butterick weekender pattern (that actually was my base for part of my work):

but the shirt, in spite of homemade pieced bias tape and a dismembered zombie head on the pocket, was nothing but a hot mess.

but i persevered!  i made the skirt anyway.  this circle skirt pattern is my favorite, because it is so easy to play with.  i quickly ended up with something fun and wearable, even if it didn’t match my original masterplan.

20140902-095258.jpg

20140902-095147.jpg

i just have to give a shout-out to the other ladies who shared the fun with me:

i really loved how, even with ridiculous choices and restrictions, everyone found a way to make a garment that was nonetheless true to herself!  so, readers, what do you think?  should we let oona continue to hand out assignments?  or do we cut off her margarita supply?

20140902-095321.jpg

This entry was posted in Finished Objects, Vintage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to #fqchallenge bonus garment! because i use all the parts of the buffalo

  1. jay says:

    Those fabric scraps give your skirt an edge!

  2. Clio says:

    hmmm, I say yes to more oona challenges, as long as they are not leveled at me! LOL

  3. We cut off her margarita supply!!! I love the skirt and how you added the fat quarter scraps to it!

  4. LLADYBIRD says:

    devvie devvie devvie! I love you!

  5. I love this! You made this work so well. Extra credit times 15 for you!

Leave a Reply

