simplicity 2192: i promise that no muppets were harmed in the making of this garment

IMG_5710
i swear that it is oona’s fault.

have i ever told you guys (excuse me, gudes) this story?  the story of the terrible influence we have on each other sometimes when we shop?  classic examples include clio buying ewok fur; suzanne and susan teaching oona about sequined bomber jackets, and my obsession with muppet fur.

IMG_5718

the muppet thing actually goes back, i think, as far as the “oona does it” days on the sew weekly and the very first new-york-based meetup.  now, i could be making this up – memory does play tricks – but i think the way the story goes is that me, oona and nettie were giggling over a bolt of something on 39th street and attempted to dare oona to make something out of muppet fur.

and yet, all these years later, how am i the one that followed through?

OH, RIGHT, BECAUSE IT SPARKLES.

IMG_5716

seriously, sometimes i am just too easy.  the pattern is simplicity 2192, from the cynthia rowley collection.  i swear, these patterns come about as close to perfect-out-of-the-packet as possible for me.  they’re cute but not cutesy, and modern without trying too hard, and just have a vibe that i find very easy to incorporate into my vision.

this sweatshirt was a cinch to make up.  front, back, sleeves and facings.  i didn’t even do my usual tweaks to the sweatshirt (i.e., shortening it a bit, re-shaping the sides) because i wanted the slightly-boxy-oversized look.

that said, facings were a mistake with this fabric.  TOO MUCH BULK.  alas, we live and learn and wear it anyway.

(also, i just now noticed from the fashion drawing as i pasted the image in that the facings were meant to be attached on the outside as a design feature.  RTFM, much?  sheesh.)

IMG_5725

This entry was posted in Finished Objects. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to simplicity 2192: i promise that no muppets were harmed in the making of this garment

  1. Clio says:

    This looks incredibly chic on you in a very Audrey Hepburn sort of way! Although, I’ve heard there’s been a rash of disappearances over on Ave Q recently…

    • Kimbersew says:

      Ahh- the muppets! If you come home one day and your sneakers are glued to the floor, you’ll know they have had their revenge.

  2. the facing thing made me laugh out loud so hard. 🙂 for some crazy reason this looks amazing on you!

  3. Lol oona gets blamed so much over challenges. I love a good sweatshirt. Chic and comfortable. Great fabric because it’s so much fun and high fashion. I’m still holding post your trim from Brasil because I’m heading to Paris and just in case I see something for your tweed jackets

    • oonaballoona says:

      HA! i do, don’t i? i am the picture of innocence!

      the facing switched is WAY BETTER! you’re making me want to dissect my chartreuse muppet now. be prepared for questions this weekend, miss playset.

  4. Laurie says:

    I am with Clio and Aspen… this really looks great! I was so curious- Muppet fur?? But I like!

  5. Amanda says:

    That looks sooooooooo cozy! Anything Muppet is a bonus as far as I’m concerned. And now I want some Muppet fur to make me all warm and fozzie – I mean, fuzzy – this winter.

  6. nettie says:

    That’s the way I remember it, too!!! You look great babes! I love seeing you smiling in one of my favorite places!

  7. Awwwwesome, I love this — the kind of make that would get a lot of wear in my casual wardrobe. I have this pattern actually, ha! And that last picture is beautiful. Ah, I was just doing some sewing room cleaning and stash culling and came across my treasured fabrics from that day. No more hoarding them, they need to get into my closet. Especially since I miiiiight be trekking up there again later this year — I need to make room! 😉

  8. gingermakes says:

    This is fabulous! I love this neckline on you!!!

  9. poppykettle says:

    Cosy AND muppet-y, gotta be a win. Is it as soft as it looks? I like it 🙂

  10. Oooh the sparkles! What about a facing of a different fabric? Would it be weird?

Leave a Reply

