is “meh” an appropriate synonym for “january”?

i think that oona said it best last year when she said that january incites a certain special kind of homicidal mania in new yorkers.  seriously.  it’s cold, and windy, and every joint in your body hurts just from walking to the laundromat or the supermarket.  it’s too hot on the subway and too damn cold everywhere else.  the holidays are over – for better or for worse – and suddenly everyone at work remembers they have a job after six weeks (between american thanksgiving and new year’s day) of being able to say “no worries, it can wait until after the holidays.”  and now that mythical, far-away time has arrived.

drat.

for me, that includes adapting to a new work space and atmosphere and commute.  mostly positive – except the commuting nonsense – but still an entirely new power shuffle must play out before everyone is completely comfortable with where we are and what we are doing.

and, alas, i am also adapting to the newly-empty vastness of my palatially-sized apartment.  my beloved four-legger left me very suddenly this week and i am in the midst of a long, dark tea-time of the soul.  gerry is temporarily on hold while i regain my scattered wits although i think my critter would want me to finish, as he bestowed his stamp of approval by thoughtfully using my poor in-progress gerry as a bed whenever possible.

so i will belatedly take a moment to reflect on some of the successes of 2014.  it was my most productive, engaged and positive year of sewing since i began in 2009.  i feel i am finally beginning to understand my “voice” and my “point of view”.  but i do have many more finished makes than one could be forgiven for thinking by looking at this site.

more on that contentious subject later.

20140210-190527.jpg

without a doubt one of my more ambitious and crazy ideas was this super-fun flared skirt with alabama chanin string appliqué.  i will definitely be revisiting this technique in 2015.

20140218-144224.jpg

i am similarly obsessed with my chanel-inspired alabama chanin half-sweater.  an interior designer colleague of mine called it an “art piece,” and i am pretty sure she meant that in a good way!

IMG_0663

i just really like this simplicity 1610 with kitty cat print.  it has a lot of my signature details – fun zipper, uneven hem, wacky cotton print – and is easy to grab on a hot summer day for a chic and office-appropriate look.  but still with a kitty cat print.  nyah.

20140708-094314-34994639.jpg

han solo trousers!  need i say more?  base pattern was the papercut peter and the wolf pant.

20140804-222422-80662829.jpgbut i think the 2014 signature garment has to be the toquilla-inspired fat quarter challenge playsuit.  it combined all of my favorite elements in a garment:  fun design, wacky prints, wearability, and good friends.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to is “meh” an appropriate synonym for “january”?

  1. Jenni says:

    So sorry on your loss x pets are irreplaceable x

  2. Oh my god, Devra, I’m so so sorry to hear about Indy 😦 he was indeed legit one of the coolest cats I’ve ever known, and I can’t even imagine how you must be feeling right now. You’re in my thoughts ❤

  3. Vancouver Barbara says:

    Beautiful cat now in cat heaven. Still available, just on a different channel. Maybe visiting with two of my own. They visit in dreams and I can feel their fur. Purrrty nice.
    Love your take on Alabama Chanin.
    I love your wall paper so much that I was inspired to buy it too. Not hung yet as I don’t have the proper wall space for it. I really love seeing it in your posts.

  4. gingermakes says:

    Meh indeed. 😦 Thinking of you, friend.

  5. sailaway007 says:

    Goodbye sweet Indy. We will always remember your odd ways and how they were quick to put a smile on our faces. Hoping to pat your belly again in a time to come.

  6. So sorry about your kitty. Lots of love.

  7. January is always just kind of sucktastic even without heartache. So so sorry to hear about your kitty.

  8. oonaballoona says:

    maybe your gerry can be like a hug from indy. he was such a sweetheart, and the star of every brunch.

    i love all your ensembles, but especially the thoughts on your last outfit. may there be many, many more!

  9. Caroline says:

    If only you lived a few thousand miles nearer as we have too super kittens…tres stylish with a very discerning eye when it comes to material scrap playthings…that need a good home….or we could just keep them ourselves :-).

    BTW In the photos of your ‘Frenchie” collecton the top two have amazing trims unlike anything I’ve been able to find in the UK….did you get them from anywhere with an on-line shop??

    • puu says:

      all my french jacket trims are from M&J trimmings. i believe they have an online shop but i don’t know what the experience is like – i just pop in a few times a year and stock up!

  10. poppykettle says:

    I’m so sad to hear that… 😦 Losing a pet partner can be so devastating.
    I will always be a fan 🙂

  11. Jessicathecat says:

    I am so sorry for your loss of the darling kitty. I believe and hope that he is playing with my little ones in heaven and waiting for us to come to them. I look forward to that day and have asked God to take care of him and them until we do again.

  12. Tracey says:

    Oh no. I’m so sad to hear about Indy. I know how much you loved him. And he made my week sewing with you so special. I loved how he would come over and visit me. Coolest cat ever.

Leave a Reply

